1. What do you think the lines mean?:
"The stars are misled...
and he fooled the ear"

2. In this poem, what do you think fear symbolizes?

3. What images do you create in your mind when you read this poem? What emotions does the poem create?
Briana Johnson
11/12/2009 08:01:42 am

To answer number 3: The image that came to mind at the beginning of this poem was a sunny and happy day. But when it is talking about misleading fear all that came to mind were dark images and it just made me think of death. So it made me feel bad afterward. I think that was the whole point of the poem, to mislead you into thinking happily, but then everything turn out just bad.

Reply
Jade Silvan
11/12/2009 08:23:39 am

1. I think that "the stars are mislead, and he fooled the ear" means to be mislead or tricked.

2. I really don't really know what fear symbolizes...perhaps, the night? Just guessing...

3. I agree with Briana about seeing dark images, and feeling mislead...but not about the sunny day part. What came to my mind was a night sky covered with stars. That kinda just stuck in my mind.

Reply
Emily Grupp
11/12/2009 08:23:47 am

1. i think it means that he mislead or tricked fate which is symbolizing stars, so essentail he mislead fate.

2.i think fear symbolizies the night just like jade.

3.i agree with briana about how it seemed peace full then it turned dark and gray.

Reply
Jade Silvan
11/12/2009 08:25:28 am

I also agree with Emily on #1.

Reply
Christine Nguyen
11/12/2009 08:33:05 am

1. I agree with Jade, Emily, and Briana for this.

2. I don't really know what the fear symbolized in this poem. Through out the poem, it made me think of different things such as night (like Jade and Emily agreed) and death.

3. I agree with Briana. This poem seems to put the readers in a dark state of mind.

Reply
Briana Johnson (replies)
11/12/2009 09:13:36 am

-I believe that Jade is right about the night. My mind just though of dark when I read it.
-I also think Emily are right. Like I said in my first comment, I think the whole poem is talking about a trick and mislead fate.

Reply
Meghana Narra
11/12/2009 09:32:17 am

1. I agree with Jade and Emily on this one.
2. I don't know what fear stands, but i think it might stand for the night and death.
3. I agree with Brianna, this poem mekes the reader think of the dark side.

Reply
Glenn Hartman
11/12/2009 10:59:11 am

1. I agree with jade on this one

2. I really don't really know what fear symbolizes...perhaps, the night? Or being abandonded?
3. I agree with Briana and Jade about seeing dark images, and feeling mislead...but not about the sunny day part. What came to my mind was a night sky covered with stars. That kinda just stuck in my mind.

Reply
Gurvir Dhaliwal
11/12/2009 11:03:40 am

for number 3, i agreee with Emily and Brianna about the changing moods. at first i pictured a dark night with stars, and then it got sad and i pictured like a pitch black room.

Reply
Timothy Ie
11/12/2009 11:30:18 am

To answer #3:
When I read the first part of this poem, I sort of thought of the moon in the night sky and the showcase in the night as well. During the second part, I sort of imagined a dark room with the lamp of love shining a small light. I sort of felt some "dark" feelings while reading it.

Reply
Gurminder Sandhu
11/12/2009 11:40:58 am

1. I agree with Emily and Briana on this one
2. I too think that fear symbolizes the night and maybe even death.
3. I agree with Briana for this one it kind of makes you feel mislead and creates dark images and reminds you about death.

Reply
zack Washington
11/12/2009 12:02:25 pm

For number three it gives my dark images in my mind

Reply
Timothy Ie
11/12/2009 12:14:15 pm

I agree with Glenn for #2. I don't really know for sure what fear is supposed to mean. I think there's an obvious connection to night, though...it may mean abandonment, as in, "Fear and wakefulness without lamp of love". I guess it's sort of like being without love and feeling lonely/abandoned.

Reply
Timothy Ie
11/12/2009 12:18:58 pm

I'm going to have to agree with Jade on #1. I also think that "The stars are misled... and he fooled the ear" means being tricked or mislead.

Reply
Brenton H.
11/12/2009 12:35:33 pm

To answer question number 2, I think that fear symbolizes things like denial and trickery because it says many times that "it wasn't" but then at the end it stated "it was", which follows the usual pattern of denial then acceptance. The trickery is only discernible from denial because denial is self-inflicted while being tricked would be an outside party, and fear can be both.

Emily: I agree completely with your interpretation of the stars as fate.

Timothy: I agree with you partially when you say that the narrator is without love, however Instead of being without love like its been taken away, I think its more like never experiencing love, like something that you can't remember and it bothers you terribly until you forget it completely.

Reply
John Dao
11/12/2009 12:50:50 pm

1. I agree with Jade, Emily, and Briana for this.
2. The night or being abandonded.
3. I agree with Briana for this one it kind of makes you feel mislead and creates dark images and reminds you about death.

BTW, I finally found ur guy's website.

Reply
Sean Hansberry
11/12/2009 12:58:11 pm

1. I also I agree with Jade, Emily and Briana for they are right.
2. The night, darkness and silence are all symbols of fear in this poem.
3. I agree with Briana for this one it kind of makes you feel mislead and creates dark images and reminds you about death.

Your guy's website was impossible to find I thought the 2 was a z

Reply
Sarah Pitt
11/13/2009 09:03:33 am

1.I think that part means that someone fooled something pure and bright and made them never want to trust their foolish ears again.

2.I think fear symbolizes heartache or heartbreak because the poem says '...without the lamp of love...' meaning that there is no longer any love to light the way.

3.The images I see when i read this poem are a soft light, like a candle, in the beggining that then changes into and electrical storm destroying everything in a very epic manor. With the candle light i felt a soft fluttery feeling, while with the electrical storm I felt a seemingly never ending spiral of rage, sorrow, frustration and fear all at the same time.

Reply
Taylor Green
11/13/2009 11:05:20 am

Quesion 2: I think that fear symbolises sadness, and some sort of heart break. I think there is some sort of darkness in this poem.

I agree with Sarah, she did a good job quoting the second question.

I also agree with Brenton, his answer was smart and well thought out.

Reply
Jana Iwasaki
11/13/2009 11:58:10 am

1. I think that, this line in the poem means that somebody lied, so the stars were told the wrong thing and the ear was fooled into thinking the lie was true.

2. Like Jade, I agree that fear means night, although sometimes it changes throught the poem, and it's unclear what fear symbolizes.

3. The poem creates dark, and blank images in my mind, like someone going crazy, because of fear. The poem creates a eerie feeling and leaves the reader asking what the author is so afraid of.

Reply
Aaliyah Mitchell
11/13/2009 01:41:11 pm

Question 3: I visulaize the world in a state of chaos where so many things are happening at once and i picture many differnt colors in my mind as well. I also feel stressed from what i invision, CHAOS!

Reply
Haley Poole
11/15/2009 03:10:03 am

Question 1:
"The stars are misled...
and he fooled the ear" means, just like Jade said, being tricked or misguided.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    November 2009

    Categories

    All